10 years of Alton Towers

2019 marks the anniversary of my first trip to Alton Towers. In 2009 my secondary school announced it would be getting rebuild and branded as an academy. I was the last year to graduate before it became the academy and because of this they decided to take us all to Alton Towers.

(Super blurry photos that you’d think were taken on a potato. Alton Towers 2009.)

I’ll be forever grateful for this experience, it truly helped to fuel my love for theme parks and rollercoasters. I had no idea what to expect and certainly didn’t expect to enter a theme park so big. I’d visited parks previous to this trip such as Disneyland Paris in 2007, (which I’ll always love) and various trips to Flamingoland and Lightwater valley.

(Alton Towers 2016)

I remember walking down Towers street and taking in the view of the stunning towers across the lake. I was so excited and didn’t even know where to start. The thing that stood out to me the most on the trip was Hex. I had no idea how it worked at the time and was blown away but the theming.

Hex and Th13teen are two of my favourite rides to take people on for the first time, mainly for people’s reactions. I’ve tried to visit Alton Towers at least once a year since.

(Alton Towers 2018)

2009 was a rough year for me and I loved nothing more than visiting Alton Towers to well as cliche as it sounds, escape. Walking down Towers street and just forgetting about my worries for a few hours, ah it’s an amazing feeling. I still get excited to visit Alton Towers even though I’ve dragged countless people with me over the years, who all think I’m crazy for visiting multiple times a season. I still get the feeling of escaping to a place where I can just have fun.

So yeah 2019 marks my 10 years of visiting Alton Towers and being utterly in love with the place.

Do you have a place like this, where no matter how many times you visit you still get excited to go back?

Thanks for reading

5 thoughts on “10 years of Alton Towers

  1. Alton Towers is such a special place for us too. It’s exactly the place our passion and hobby began. Our love for coasters came from this park! Another incredible blog keep up the amazing work!💕

      1. Oh gosh we can’t wait either turns out I rode during the 21st but just wasn’t an enthusiasts at the time haha!

  2. Alton Towers will always be special to me. I grew up in Stoke so it’s my local park, but it’s so much more. I’ve always suffered with depression, and all throughout Towers has been somewhere for me to, just like you, escape to.

    I see Towers and Merlin get bashed online a lot. But for me, I’m just grateful for what it’s done for me, and for what it will continue to do. Very pleased to have found your blog!

    1. It’s a wonderful place isn’t it. I’m so glad it gives you the same feeling of escaping. Sometimes it’s needed and I’m thankful we have both found a place for that.

Leave a comment